Fastest K1 1000m

Just finished racing at Duisburg, where I paddled in the fastest K1 1000m race of all time.

Eirik Veras Larsen was in great form becoming the fist person ever to break 3m 25 with 3.24.9. I paddled my fastest ever joining Nathan Baggaley and Adam Van Coeverden in the 3.25 club.  This was a good gauge of world class competition, and also a confidence boost after last weekend, to see I’m not too far back, as last year Eirik Veras Larsen taught us a lesson in Hungary and I was still able to come up, this time the gap is much closer.

My 500 didn’t go as well as I would have liked but was quite understandable with where I am at with my training.

To finish the weekend off  we had the final of the demonstration 3000m race, this was a good blow out, with Nathan Baggaley paddling a very smart race, taking the lead from me on the last turn to hold on all the way to the line. The race was followed by a quick medal ceremony and I was off to England with the team van and trailer.  Katie and I arrived in London at Royal Canoe club at 2am the following morning.

