Australian Championships

I have just returned home from a successful trip to the Australian Champs at the 2000 Olympic course in Penrith, Sydney. 

I was really pleased with how my racing went.  I had some great racing to win the K1 1000m and the K1 500m after some tough competition from Nathan Baggaley.  My K1 1000m race was a fiercely competitive race.

After five long days of sprint racing the two of us meet again in the 35km marathon event.  As anticipated Nathan and I broke away early and shared the work for most of the race, having experienced Nathans exceptional sprint finish in the past I felt my best option was to try and drop him in the last portage and time trial to the finish.  As it would happen Nathan was able to hang on and as best as I tried (last 1000m in 3.45 and the last 500m in 1.47) I could not match his final sprint.

