King of the Harbour

Today I got my best ever result in the King of the Harbour long distance surf ski race, from Auckland city to Waiheke Island. 

This race was part of the world cup circuit, and attracted competitors from Tahiti, Australia and South Africa.  The outcome of this race was always going to be heavily dependent on the conditions.  Fortunately the winds were light which suited me.  
 
Quite out of character for me (in surf ski races that is) I got off to a fantastic start, and had 3 ski lengths lead when we turned around the harbour bridge.  But that was about as good as it got for me, as I was soon joined by defending champion and eventual race winner Dawid Moche from South Africa.  We took different lines through the Hauraki Gulf and when we rejoined coming into Waiheke he had a 300m lead, I managed to pull this back to 20 seconds on the finish line.

It was a great a day for my partner Katie who won the women’s race 1 and half minutes ahead of a classy international field.  We were both part of the winning New Zealand team.

