World Cup 1 – Poland

With the first world cup of the year held in Poland out of the way, we are now in Germany to prepare for the second world cup held in Duisburg.

Training has been a little slow to begin with this week, with the body recovering from a lot of racing and traveling.

So it is a good opportunity to update my website, thanks to Vodafone for the mobile internet card so I can access the site from the comfort of my motel room.

I am very pleased with my results from the world cup, coming away with two bronze medals in the K1 and K2 1000.
Also my first K1 500m A-Final in which I placed 5th and a 4th placing in the K1 200m B-Final.

Having heats, semi finals and finals for four events over three days made a busy schedule, but with only two world cups again this year it was an opportunity to test myself and the K2 with international competition.

Steven Ferguson and myself final made the podium in the K2 for our first time in our three years of international racing together.
We came away with the bronze medal narrowly missing the Gold by .3 of a second.

Today I finally reached my goal for a 250m effort, I have worked hard on improving my speed and it is satisfying to see the gain after a lot of work in the gym and on water.

