Duisburg and Home

After 30h hours of traveling it is sure good to be home. I had been on the road for only five weeks on this trip, but home is home.

The last regatta was the second world cup held in Duisburg, Germany.

The results were pretty good for where we are at with our training.  After having a shocking K1 1000 semi final and nearly not making it through I was able to lift my level and win the silver that afternoon, this was very satisfying.

In the K2 Steven Ferguson and I came home 4th in a  very close race after being no less than 2nd the whole way through the race.

The following day was for the 500m semis and finals, I won my semi and went through to lane 4 for the final which was a great position, Steve Ferg made the A-final as well so it was cool to have two New Zealanders racing in K1 in the same final.

In the end it was a very close race, I recorded my best ever K1 500 placing in a world cup getting fourth by only fractions of a second off the medals.

Now back in NZ I will have a week off, with only a couple of maintenance sessions before we launch into our pre worlds build up next week.

