Europe Bound

Hard to believe we are flying out tomorrow to start the final preparations for the World Championships to be held in Zagreb, Croatia.
Normally I am running around doing last minute packing, but this time I am slightly concerned I must have forgot something as it all seems too easy. I even had time to get down to the Golf driving range yesterday and hit a quick hundred balls. I have been enjoying my new Wilson golf clubs a lot, and I am finally starting to hit my three wood with some resemblance of what it should look like.

The training has been hard and I am looking forward to having a lighter week as we travel and acclimatize to the northern hemisphere conditions of much warmer weather which I like.
So far the goals have been met for this year, get stronger – tick, get more max speed – tick, put on some weight – tick, and I have even managed to improve on my lactate test.
 So it will be interesting to see how this translates on the race course at Zagreb, it would seem my goal of making top five in the K1 1000 is still very realistic along with A finals in the K1 500 and a medal in the K2 1000 although this will be tough with the 20 minute time gap between K1 and K2 1000 meter finals.
My K1 1000m goal might seem conservative given my short history in the event but it is important to keep perspective after a long break following Athens in which I was thinking I wouldn’t be racing kayaks this year, although at times a podium finish has seemed a realistic goal.
Tomorrow we leave for Austria which will be our base for two weeks before we drive to Croatia for the World Champs.

