No time for Golf

Well it has been a while since I have updated the site, my apologies for that.

Over the last few months I have taken the opportunity to burrow down and get stuck into some hard work.
November, December and January have consisted of some the biggest training weeks I have done in my paddling career.
Last year I focused on developing my strength and speed but the small benefits came at the detriment of my aerobic fitness resulting in my fifth place at worlds in Croatia.

Last weekend we raced the Grand prix 2 regatta in Penrith, Australia. I competed in just the K1s winning both the 1000 and the 500. The times I thought were fair for the conditions with a 1.41 for the 500 and a 3.32 for the 1000 both in glassy conditions.

Not world fastest times but they indicate I have recovered and moved on from my slump at worlds and I am fit and in a good starting position for the year, it is now going to be a case of what we do from here on in that will determine worlds.

We have our national titles on the 4th and 5th of March, I am looking forward to having having a hit out before I resume my build up for the worlds cups.These are more about supporting the event for me now and maintaining my volume rather than doing too much specific race prep and peaking. It will be great to take part in what is anticipated as one of our biggest  National championships in many years.

