Great start to the season

The first world cup of the season in Poznan went very well. I was pleased to get fourth place in the K1 500 fianl which is a very good result for me as it is not my favoured event.

The K1 1000 was probably the best race I have had since the Athens Olympics. I had a strong first 500 then was still able to finish strong enough to go head to head with Adam Van Koeverden of Canada. This race was probably more fun to watch than to be in as it came down to the lunge with only a foot between the two of us over a 1000m of racing.
There was added incentive to win this race as I felt judging by a very comfortable 3.28 in my heat that fast final conditions would mean a Worlds fastest time.So it was with a 3.24.495.

We are now training in the Czech Republic, so far the training has been solid, there will be a lot of work to be done if I want to be competitive at Worlds.

Next week we leave for the second world cup in Duisburg, Germany.

