Time out

Well it has been a very relaxing week so I apologise for the slow update.

Its not often I get to rest from training so it was nice to make the most of it. I was able to do some traveling with my girlfriend who has come out to England.

It was great to visit the City of Bath, a beautiful city. Stonehenge was good, but the intersection of two busy roads 200m away kind of killed the atmosphere along with the rope to keep you 50m away. Friday night we went to Fat Freddys drop at the Brixton academy which was pretty cool, nothing like seeing a New Zealand band on the other side of the world.

Back to business.
The second world cup was good but not great. I was happy to make the K1 500 final as the fastest third semi finalist having the eventual final winner and third place getter in my semi final. I managed only eighth in the final which was disappointing as I was hoping to improve on my fourth place in Poland. I felt very tired and flat, looking back I probably trained too hard too soon after the first World Cup in Poznan.

The K1 1000 went very well all things considered, I was happy with my second place as the competition is very tight at the top of men’s kayak. Adam from Canada paddled a very smart race and I was not able to catch him in the last 250. Its interesting to note how much Eirik has come up in two weeks, it would be very naive to think he will not be very hard to beat come August.

It was also great to see the Kiwi K4 crew stepping up and making B finals in both the World Cups, a solid effort for their international debut at a senior level.

Leave a Reply

