Mt Cook to ChCh day 1

ben racing chch

Good day for the team. We are now in a good lead with a 28 minute buffer. All our team members got the fastest times today, so it’s nice to have a cash bonus.

Todays paddle was a 18k leg across lake Pukake. I had some unexpected competition from Sven Bruss of South Africa who has represented SA at junior marathon worlds, won the 144k Avon descent is Aussie and recently came 4th in the Dusi. So a pretty handy paddler to keep me honest. At the start of the paddle he left not far behind me, after 20 minutes he was still close! I didn’t know who this guy was so I had to pick it up a few gears and managed to put a 3 minute gap on him.

Tomorrow we paddle the Rangatata river which I have not paddled before. I am told a few boats have been broken down there so fingers crossed I make it alright.

