New Eyes

I am very happy to say that I have just had both of my eyes corrected with Laser surgery and it has been very successful.  On my check up on Saturday morning the day after I already had 20/20 vision in my right eye.

Glasses have been a part of my life since I was four years old. So it is probably hard to explain how exicted I am. No more contact lenses coming out during important races.

This weekend we had the New Zealand Kayak Nationals. Obviously I wasnt able to compete but I did enjoy watching some very good racing. A lot more depth in all the categories but in particular under 20s and in the Womens.

Erin Taylor came through to win the K1 1000 for her first time and became the first NZ women to break 4 minutes. She is still young so there is plenty of promise. Today she backed up to win the K1 500. In the Mens Steve Ferguson won the K1 1000 looking very much in control with Mike Walker paddling a PB in 3.35 for 2nd and Fred Tear coming in 3rd.

The K1 500 though was a tighter battle with Steve just putting Troy Burbridge away in the last 50m.

I was happy to sit out racing with many people asking if I wished I was racing. I can honestly say today I was happy to watch. I have probably overtrained in the offseason and I know there is a big base behind me. It is more important to make sure I am healthy when we leave for Europe.

