Racing

Over the weekend the New Zealand team competed at the Grand Prix 2 regatta at the Penrith Olympic regatta course just outside of Sydney.

It was a good opportunity to see where I was at after a summer of high volume training and solid work in the gym.

In the K1 1000 I was happy to do a 3.30 in the semis with a little bit spare, we had a light tale breeze and I feel that with a good tail wind it could have been a 3.27 which is as good as I could hope for at this time. In the final I was beaten convincingly by Kenny Wallace who is looking dangerous with a margin of 3 seconds. Third place was Steven Ferguson just back from me so it was good to see him improving.

In the K1 500 I had a much better performance with the strength work paying off I was able to get in the lead for a while before Steve Ferg edged me out on the line to win by .04

It was good to have two kiwis over the line first. Hopefully with some higher top end aerobic and Vo2 work I will be able to improve my 1000 over the coming months.

This weekend we have our national championships on lake Pupuke which will be another opportunity for a good hit out with Troy Burbidge and myself lining up against Mike and Steve in the K2. You can visit Troys home page on:

http://www.cleo.co.nz/HOTBOYS/HookUpWithAHottie/HookUpWithTroy/tabid/446/e/1/Default.aspx

ha.

Leave a Reply

