Aussie Nationals/Oceania Champs

Last week we had the Australian/Oceania flatwater sprint kayaking championships in Sydney. It was a big ask racing five events over five days in the scorching Aussie heat.

The results were mixed. In the final of the K1 1000 I did it tough and had a very average race coming home 6 seconds behind Barcelona Olympic champion Clint Robertson and last years world number 4 Ken Wallace who came home strong to take the win.

One of the few positives I was able to take from the regatta was the 3.29 I did in my semi final which is the first time in 6 years of racing in Penrith that I have broken 3.30 which for how I have been feeling and the type of training I have been doing is quite a positive result.

The guys were really going fast with their Olympic futures on the line and the level in Aussie has taken a big leap from previous years. If you wernt in top racing condition you would be found out.

In the K1 500 I was pleased with a 4th place being 1.5 seconds behind Kenny Wallace again who won in a 1.39, and I was just over a second behind Steve Ferguson who now gets the Olympic K1 500 spot. This was frustrating for me as I wasnt prepared to compromise my single peak K1 1000 build up this early in the year to gain the selection for the K1 500 by beating Steve and to miss that opportunity by a boat length was annoying to say the least.

The decision makers implemented a policy allowing athletes who have qualified at the 2007 world championships in Germany to have their selection secure for Beijing then they dangle a carrot in front of everybody encouraging them to peak early in the year which in my view contradicts the policy they had put in place to allow people to peak later in the year..

Never mind, I had a great time racing K2 with Troy Burbidge again over both the 1000 and the 500m events. Luckily with how I was feeling Troy was in sensational form and towed me down the course. We took out the K2 1000 in a really competitive field. The K2 500 was a bit skakey getting beaten on the line.

Leave a Reply

