Mangatepopo River tragedy

My heart goes out to the families of those lost in the Mangatepopo River tragedy and to the people in Tongariro National Park.

Throughout my teens I took part in many activities during high school in this amazing adventure playground on Taumarunui’s back door step, and looking back it certainly contributed to my passion for outdoor pursuits today.

It is a beautiful and very spiritual area – all at once wild and rugged, serene and peaceful.

My thoughts are with the families, Outdoor Pursuits Centre staff and the local community.

For overseas visitors to this site who may not be aware there was a terrible canyoning tragedy this week resulting in a teacher and six teenage school kids losing their lives on an outdoor education trip in the Tongariro National Park.

